The District of Columbia Developmental Center for AIDS Research (DC D-CFAR) is honored to host the 7th Annual SBSRN National Scientific Meeting. The HIV/AIDS epidemic continues to be a major public health challenge both locally and internationally. Washington, DC is home to some of the world's leading public health institutions, but also has one of the highest rates of HIV/AIDS among major metropolitan areas in the United States.

In June 2010, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) awarded a five-year grant to establish the District of Columbia D-CFAR, a multi-institutional collaboration that includes:

  • American University
  • Children's National Medical Center
  • Georgetown University
  • George Washington University
  • Howard University
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center

The mission of the DC D-CFAR is to provide scientific leadership and institutional infrastructure to promote HIV/AIDS research and to develop the next generation of HIV/AIDS investigators in Washington, DC. Please visit the DC D-CFAR website at http://sphhs.gwu.edu/d-cfar/.

The overarching goal of the DC D-CFAR Behavioral Science, Prevention and Biostatistics (BSPB) Core is to promote and increase innovative research on HIV/AIDS to stem the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Washington, DC. This Core seeks to encourage public health, implementation, and experimental research, with an emphasis on multidisciplinary projects. The BSPB Core is led by Drs. Paul Poppen, Maria Cecilia Zea, and Sam Simmens.

The 7th National SBSRN Scientific Meeting planning process is being led by the following committees:

NICHD Project Officer

  • Susan Newcomer, MS, PhD

SBSRN Executive Committee

  • Michael Blank, PhD, Penn CFAR
  • Ralph DiClemente, MS, PhD, Emory CFAR
  • David Metzger, PhD, Penn CFAR
  • Gina Wingood, MPH, ScD, Emory CFAR

SBSRN Executive Committee Staff

  • Tiffany Dominique

SBSRN 2013 Host Planning Committee - DC D-CFAR

  • Rebecca Barasky, MPH
  • Kim Blankenship, PhD
  • Jenna Crowther
  • Manya Magnus, PhD, MPH
  • Carolin Perez
  • Paul Poppen, PhD
  • Sam Simmens, PhD
  • Jen Skillicorn, MPH
  • Karen Wyche, PhD, MSW
  • Maria Cecilia Zea, PhD

The DC D-CFAR is grateful to the sponsors of the CFAR SBSRN 7th National Scientific Meeting.

Comments are closed.