Four GW Students Win Prestigious Health Policy Scholarships

Health Policy MPH students Laila Goharioon and Jordan Wolfe and MPH@GW student James Ebert recently learned that they will receive $10,000 David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarships.  “The awards recognize both the outstanding nature of these students and the superior education provided by the Milken Institute School of Public Health’s Department of Health Policy and Management, the only school of public health in the nation’s capital,” says HPM Chair Thomas LaVeist

The Winston Scholarship program recognizes excellence and achievement for students in master’s degree programs in health administration, health policy and public health.  The program seeks to increase the number and quality of individuals trained in healthcare policy at the state and federal level by awarding deserving health policy students with financial support to further their education.  Scholars are selected based on expressed and demonstrated commitment to health policy, leadership, academic achievement, community involvement and long term career interest in health policy.

The fourth GW student to earn one of the scholarships is Melissa Mannon, a student in the Trachtenberg School of Public Policy & Public Administration’s Master of Public Policy program. All of the Winston Scholars will participate in a one-day symposium on health policy in Washington, DC.