Dean Lynn Goldman Joins Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars

Dean Lynn Goldman was inducted into the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars on April 9 in recognition of her illustrious career in public health. She is one of 13 individuals selected to join this prestigious organization in 2018.

Inductees were honored in a ceremony held at the George Peabody Library at Johns Hopkins University. During the ceremony, Dean Goldman received a medallion and certificate of membership. Johns Hopkins University President Ronald J. Daniels and Provost Sunil Kumar hosted the event.

The Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, created in 1967, inducts former postdoctoral fellows, postdoctoral degree recipients, house staff, and junior or visiting faculty at Johns Hopkins University who’ve made significant contributions in their respective fields. Only 671 individuals have joined the organization.

Along with Dean Goldman, notable 2018 inductees include Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, the president of Afghanistan, and Sonja A. Rasmussen, deputy director for infectious diseases and director of the Office of Infectious Diseases at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The full list of inductees is available here.

Dean Goldman is a renowned epidemiologist, pediatrician and environmental health expert. Prior to joining the Milken Institute School of Public Health, she served as a professor of environmental health sciences at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Dean Goldman served as the assistant administrator for toxic substances in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and worked for the California Department of Public Health.

In addition to this new honor, Dean Goldman received the 2016 Walsh McDermott Medal from the National Academy of Medicine; the 2009 Heinz Award given to innovators addressing global change caused by human activities; the Woodrow Wilson Award for Distinguished Government Service from the Johns Hopkins University Alumni Association and was named one of 150 outstanding alumni by the University of California, San Francisco.